Log in

National capital area Environmental health Association

2023 Awards And Scholarships NCAEHA is proud to offer a variety of Awards and Scholarships to our outstanding members each year to highlight their achievements within the Environmental Health field. Awards and Scholarship winners are announced at the Annual Awards Dinner, held during the summer. 

James M. Wordsworth Scholarship
James Wordsworth has been a long standing restaurateur and advocate for the work Environmental Health Professionals do to help keep the public safe. Mr. Wordsworth is a Honorary Lifetime Member of NCAEHA and every year helps make a scholarship available to a candidate that is seeking higher education in a field related to Environmental Health. 
Deadline: May 31, 2024 - CLOSED

2024 James M. Wordsworth Scholarship Application 

2023 Winner: Ilda Bengui, Strayer University

Jerrold M. Michael Award
Jerrold Michael was the Founding President of NCAEHA. He was a true leader and pioneer in the field of Environmental Health. This award is to recognize a professional in the field of environmental health that has contributed to his or her employer’s environmental health mission, to the goals of the National Capital Area Environmental Health Association, and to the advancement of the environmental health profession. 
Deadline: June 21, 2024

2024 Jerrold M. Michael Award Application

2023 Winner: Abdul Monsur, DC Health

NEHA Certificate of Merit
Each year, NEHA recognizes one individual and one team, from each of its Affiliates, who has made outstanding contributions to the profession of environmental health. It is one of the benefits of your affiliation with NEHA. Recipients are announced in the NEHA Journal of Environmental Health
Deadline: June 17, 2024

2024 NEHA Certificate of Merit Application 

2023 Winner: Crystal Lamb, Fairfax County

Dedicated Service Award NEW
This recognition is awarded to Long-term members who are retiring this year. Candidates can be nominated by any member of NCAEHA. Eligibility: to be eligible a nominee must: be an Environmental Health Professional that is approaching retirement within the next year, be a member in good standing of NCAEHA for a minimum of 2 years, be actively engaged in the field of environmental health, and have performed professional duties in the field of environmental health above and beyond the usual employment requirements so as to elevate the professional status of the Environmental Health Professional. 
Deadline: June 21, 2024

2024 Dedicated Service Award Application 

2023 Winner: N/A

Environmental Health Innovation Award NEW
This award is presented to a NCAEHA member or organization for creating a new idea, practice or product that has had a positive impact on improving the environment or public health and quality of life. The purpose of this award is to recognize these individuals and to encourage others to search for creative solutions. 
Deadline: June 21, 2024

2024 Environmental Health Innovation Award Application 

2023 Winner: Rodent and Vector Control Division, DC Health

NCAEHA Industry Award NEW
This award is presented to a company or industry which has demonstrated support to NCAEHA and has made a significant contribution to the field of environmental health and/or to NCAEHA.
Deadline: June 21, 2024

2024 NCAEHA Industry Award Application

2023 Winner: Glory Days Grill, Inc. 

Members of the Year - VA, MD, DC NEW
These members are chosen by the VP of Membership and Secretary and are awarded for their outstanding dedication to NCAEHA.  Winners will have demonstrated active conference attendance, committee work, and have been active Members for 2 years or more.  A selection from Virginia, Maryland, and DC will be awarded, if applicable. 

2023 Winners: 

DC- Sharon Cave, DC Health

MD- Alan Heck, Retired

VA- Tilde Hoff, Fairfax County Health Department

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software